“By the time I recognize this moment, this moment will be gone”

John Mayer is always a great way to start a post, right? Of course. I promised myself I wasn’t going to get into bed until I was ready to go to bed tonight, but as I sat at my desk I was cold and just a wee bit tired. Since I currently have no coffee in my apartment (tragedy I know) I could’ve made tea but my bed was closer, it has clean sheets on it (like out of the dryer, clean) and I’m tired. So I know it’s not even 5:30pm on a Saturday but stop judging me, okay? Also, I apologize for when I fall asleep posting, not that you would know the difference anyways. Okay. Now that that’s settled, the logic behind the John Mayer quoting.

You should know that these true words are from his song, “Clarity”. If you don’t know that, crawl out from under your rock is Idaho and go to youtube to listen to it. Seriously though, these words are so so true! This weekend I had the opportunity to visit a seminary in Richmond, VA. I also go to see my family while I was there, which was amazing because I love my family (you’ll read about them soon, don’t worry). I took my mom with me because she knows me well and when I can’t get a grip on my feelings and thoughts she  always knows the questions to ask to help me get that grip. Love my mom.

So visiting this weekend I learned a lot, and it made me want to start giving more thought to the question of “What is God calling me to do with my life?” I know divinity school is the next step. I’ve got that one, but why? I have absolutely no idea  what I’m supposed to be doing with my life which is probably not all that uncommon. Frustrating sure, but not uncommon. Which should make me feel better, right? Wrong-o. As I sit here and sip my milk of out a mason jar (stop judging) and eat my strawberry pop-tart for dinner, I literally just googled “what can I do with a Masters of Divinity” and based on what I just saw, what I think I want to do isn’t listen. What is it called when all you want to do is travel, build relationships with people from all walks of life, love on them, and tell them about Christ? Heck, I’ll even cut out traveling. I just want to get to know people, see how their experiences have shaped them and see where they see themselves in relation to Christ. What is that called? I want that.

So, I guess that’s what I will leave you with. I know where I want to be now, I just need to figure out what I need to do. For now, I need to finish my pop-tarts and milk for dinner… And then I guess homework. Or Pinterest, pinterest is always good.

-S

Leave a Reply

