Fall break coffee confessions

I have a confession to make. This is hard for me to admit, so I’m going to need everyone to just not judge me. Ready… okay

I love fall and cold weather. Okay no, seriously. Don’t judge me, and let me explain. I don’t lik being cold by any means but I love sweaters, scarves, boots, coffee (duh), the holidays, football, bon fires, looking at snow, the music I am compelled to listen to, the emptiness of the beach, everything. I love it. Okay, I just had to make that confession. Please don’t judge me, beacuse we all know how much I whine complain about anything that’s not summer.

Also, I want to know how to get a job meeting new people, drinking coffee, reading, and blogging. How do I make money doing that? Seriously, I just met a transfer student who wants to get involved in campus ministries so we sat and chatted for an hour and a half. She is so sweet, and I am so excited to see her get involved and be more confident and out going. She has a great story, and I am so excited to see her share that with others to encourage them. So this got me thinkin how do I make a career out of these things? I could even cut out the blogging and reading. Seriously, I love talking to people, hearing their story, and building those friendships. That needs to be my career. Am I allowed to beg God to make this happen?

As I sit in the coffee shop, aka my office, I watch students, faculty, community members walk-in and order their drinks. I can’t help but wonder what their life has been like. Are they happy, sad, confused, struggling with a decision, whatever it may be. I want to sit and listen to that. I don’t care what it is, I just want to hear it. I probably can’t fix it, or give profound advice. I will probably ask the wrong question, or something stupid. I just want to know. I want to know where they have found God, in the mountains, valleys, raging seas, sunrise/sunsets, wherever. Or maybe they haven’t seen Him anywhere yet, and I want to know that too. Maybe I could point out where He’s been. Probably not, but maybe. Who knows?

If you don’t listen to Ben Rector, let me encourage you to listen to him. Particularly his song, Hide Away. It talks about finding God in the midst of life. It is beautiful, and is so ironic (or not) that it is the song that’s playing right now as I type this. Isn’t God so funny sometimes?

Happy fall break friends

-S

Leave a Reply

