You’ve Got a Friend in Me

Three years ago when I came to Campbell if you had told me that I would have made the friends I have today, I wouldn’t believe you. Tonight I had a great conversation with a good friend, and it was so encouraging to see a brother in Christ that excited about what God is doing in his life. He  could not stop talking about it, it was wonderful. It was amazing to see how what God was doing in his life, was validating what I have been thinking lately. I decided to look up some passages in the Bible about friends and friendship. Since God is the one who orchestrated me meeting my friends, I felt it was appropriate. Plus, it’s always appropriate to read your Bible.

In Proverbs 27:6 it says “Wounds from a friend can be trusted, but an enemy multiplies kisses.” which is one of my favorites and is so true. I can handle when my friend tells me something that’s hard to swallow much easier than I can someone I don’t trust saying something nice. A friend might tell me something mean, or something I view as hurtful, or something I don’t necessarily want to hear. However, I know they’re telling me for my own benefit and for my own good. They wouldn’t purposefully tell me something hurtful unless it was for my own good.

There are several other verses about friends and friendship, but I think that one is my favorite because it talks about how friends are honest, and that’s one of the most important things in a friend is honesty. Friends will be honest with you because they choose to have you around. It’s not forced, it’s not mandatory, it’s desired and wanted. Y’all have decided to be around each other, and therefore can be open, honest, and transparent with one another. That’s my favorite part about friendship. That’s the best part of my time here at Campbell.

So to all my friends out there; past, present, and future. Thank you for being there for me. Thank you for sharing your life with me. It literally means the world to me.

-S

Leave a Reply

