Everything to Say, Nothing to Say

I meant to do a much better job of keeping up with this, promise I did. Can we talk about how it’s halfway through November? Crazy. Anyways.

Summer came and went, fall came and is almost gone, and we’re heading into the holiday season. Catherine moved out in August, Brooke moved in, and we fell into a hectic pattern of crossing paths once a day, and catching up at soccer games and on weekends. So far I’m not failing any classes, but divinity school has drastically changed the way I look at life, education, and the world around me. I think more than I ever have in the past, I am more exhausted than I have ever been before, and even with as busy as I was in undergrad, I’ve never been more overwhelmed before.

I resigned from the church, and today is actually my first Sunday not being there. They’re on their way back from Caswell today, and I pray it went well. Telling the youth I wasn’t coming back was one of the most un-fun things I’ve ever done in my life, but I know it was important if I’m going to do this whole divinity school thing properly.

I have so much to say about this year so far, yet I can’t seem to find words to go with any of it. It’s like, this entire year (from August to now) has left me completely and totally speechless, and I have no idea what to say or think about it. I’ve tried to put words behind what I’m thinking or feeling, but nothing. I just had a ladybug come in my house… I digress.

I feel like the next 3.5 years of my life are going to be interesting. I have so many plans and dreams, but I know at an instant God can say “nope, you’re doing this” and that’ll be that. Which is kind of scary to think about, but kind of exciting at the same time. I’ve also stopped writing 3 or 4 different times thinking the words would come to me, not so much.

Now that I have a smudge more free time, maybe you’ll hear from me more. But if not, know that I’m busy tucked away in the library, working on papers and Hebrew, studying away, and you’ll hear from me during Christmas.

 

-S

Leave a Reply

